Premier's Statements

October 11, 2018
Premier Joe Savikataaq today released the following statement:  “On International Day of the Girl, I would like to take the opportunity to reflect and celebrate the strength, skills, contributions and fierce determination women and girls bring to Nunavut’s communities, organizations and vision.   In a time where we are seeing a collective movement to bring injustices inflicted on women and girls to the forefront, I encourage these conversations to take place in the territory. No matter how uncomfortable they may be, they are necessary and they are valued.  As a male leader, as a father,... read more.
September 10, 2018
Premier Joe Savikataaq today released the following statement: “This Embrace Life Day, I ask that Nunavummiut hold onto hope, and celebrate our determination and strength. Our communities are blessed in family, knowledge and potential. We are all connected, and we are all loved. If you need to talk, please contact one of the following: The Nunavut Kamatsiaqtut Help Line (available 24 hours a day, seven days a week) at 867-979-3333 or toll-free at 1-800-265-3333. Crisis Services Canada’s online chat at www.crisisservicescanada.ca, or call or send a text 1-833-456-4566. Isaksimagit Inuusirmi... read more.
August 16, 2018
(Iqaluit, NU)  Premier Joe Savikataaq today released the following statement: "On behalf of Nunavummiut, I want to offer congratulations to Natan Obed on his re-election as President of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. His work over the last three years has put the culture, challenges and priorities of Inuit on the national and international stages. I look forward to continuing our strong working relationship, advocating for Nunavut Inuit. We are stronger together. I’m confident we can use our common voice to ensure fair recognition and representation of Inuit in initiatives like suicide prevention,... read more.
July 18, 2018
(Moncton, NB) - Northern Premiers today extend their congratulations to new members of the Government of Canada’s Cabinet and look forward to working with all Ministers and the Prime Minister to continue to advance northern priorities. Yukon Premier Sandy Silver, Northwest Territories Premier Bob McLeod and Nunavut Premier Joe Savikataaq are eager to work with the Ministers to advance the needs of northerners in recognition of the unique circumstances in their jurisdictions. In particular, northern Premiers will continue to stress the need for a more flexible approach to federal-territorial... read more.
July 09, 2018
Iqaluit, NU Premier Joe Savikataaq today released the following statement: “This Nunavut Day, as we celebrate the 25th anniversary of the historic signing of the Nunavut Agreement, I am proud of our many accomplishments. Nunavummiut are determined, resourceful and community-focused. We have always persevered and grown stronger in the face of adversity. Today, we celebrate this resiliency and look to the next 25 years with hope and optimism. Our culture, language, values and innovative spirit will continue to guide us, as we work together to achieve future milestones and accomplishments. I am... read more.

Déclarations du premier minister

6 Décembre 2018
Le premier ministre Joe Savikataaq a fait la déclaration suivante aujourd’hui :  « Aujourd’hui, à l’occasion de la Journée nationale de commémoration et d’action contre la violence faite aux femmes, nous nous souvenons des 14 femmes tuées à Montréal en cette journée de 1989, et des innombrables autres victimes de violence gratuite qui ont été persécutées, blessées ou assassinées.  Je suis avec vous en cette journée de deuil collectif, et j’attends avec impatience le jour où toutes les femmes du Nunavut, d’ailleurs au Canada et du reste du monde pourront se sentir autant en sécurité que les... pour en savoir plus.
11 Octobre 2018
Le premier ministre Joe Savikataaq a fait la déclaration suivante aujourd’hui :  « À l’occasion de la Journée internationale de la fille, j’aimerais souligner la force, les compétences et la farouche détermination des femmes et des filles, ainsi que leur contribution aux communautés, aux organismes et à la vision du Nunavut.  En cette période où nous assistons à I’essor d’un mouvement collectif qui met en lumière les injustices dont les femmes et les filles sont victimes, j’encourage la population de l’ensemble du territoire à tenir des discussions à ce sujet, peu importe à quel point elles... pour en savoir plus.
10 Septembre 2018
Aujourd’hui, le premier ministre Joe Savikataaq a fait la déclaration suivante : « En cette Journée Choisir la vie, je demande aux Nunavummiuts de se raccrocher à l’espoir, et de célébrer notre détermination et notre force. Nos communautés sont choyées en termes de famille, de connaissances et de potentiel. Nous sommes tous en interrelation; chacune et chacun de nous sont aimés. Si vous avez besoin de parler à quelqu’un : Appelez la ligne d’aide Kamatsiaqtut (en tout temps) au numéro 867-979-3333 ou au numéro sans frais 1-800-265-3333. Communiquez avec les Services de crises du... pour en savoir plus.
16 Août 2018
Aujourd’hui, le premier ministre Joe Savikataaq a fait la déclaration suivante : « Au nom de tous les Nunavumiuts, je veux offrir mes félicitations à Nathan Obed pour sa réélection comme président d’Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. Son travail des trois dernières années a placé la culture, les défis et les priorités des Inuits tant sur la scène nationale qu’internationale. C’est avec plaisir que je poursuivrai avec lui notre solide relation de travail pour défendre les droits des Inuits du Nunavut. Ensemble, nous sommes plus forts. J’ai la certitude que nous pouvons utiliser notre voix collective... pour en savoir plus.
18 Juillet 2018
(Moncton, Nouveau-Brunswick) - Les premiers ministres du Nord offrent toutes leurs félicitations aux nouveaux membres du Conseil des ministres du gouvernement canadien, et se montrent impatients de collaborer avec le premier ministre et tous les ministres pour faire avancer les dossiers prioritaires du Nord. Sandy Silver, Robert McLeod et Joe Savikataaq, respectivement premiers ministres du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut, sont prêts à travailler avec les ministres fédéraux pour répondre aux besoins des populations nordiques, à la lumière de la réalité unique de... pour en savoir plus.
9 Juillet 2018
Iqaluit (Nunavut) Aujourd’hui, le premier ministre Joe Savikataaq a fait la déclaration suivante :  « En cette Fête du Nunavut, alors que nous célébrons le 25e anniversaire de la signature historique de l’Accord du Nunavut, je suis fier de nos nombreuses réalisations. Les Nunavummiuts sont déterminés, pleins de ressources et axés sur la collectivité. Nous avons toujours été persévérants et nous sommes renforcés devant l’adversité. Aujourd’hui, nous célébrons cette résilience, et nous tournons vers les 25 prochaines années avec espoir et optimisme. Notre culture, notre langue, nos valeurs et... pour en savoir plus.