Minister Simailak resigns from Executive Council

Nunavut Premier P.J. Akeeagok today released the following statement:

“Today, the member for Baker Lake, Craig Simailak, resigned from Executive Council. I wish to extend my appreciation for his service as a minister for two crucial portfolios.

In the interim, portfolio changes are as follows:

Minister David Akeeagok will act as:

  • Minister of Justice.
  • Minister responsible for Labour.
  • Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal.

Minister Lorne Kusugak will act as:

  • Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council.

As Premier, I will act as:

  • Minister responsible for the Qulliq Energy Corporation.

The Katujjiluta mandate is founded on a partnership between all members of our consensus government. I trust we can continue working together to serve our territory.”