Premier's Statements

(Moncton, NB) - Northern Premiers today extend their congratulations to new members of the Government of Canada’s Cabinet and look forward to working with all Ministers and the Prime Minister to continue to advance northern priorities. Yukon Premier Sandy Silver, Northwest Territories Premier Bob McLeod and Nunavut Premier Joe Savikataaq are eager to work with the Ministers to advance the needs of northerners in recognition of the unique circumstances in their jurisdictions. In particular, northern Premiers will continue to stress the need for a more flexible approach to federal-territorial… read more.
Iqaluit, NU Premier Joe Savikataaq today released the following statement: “This Nunavut Day, as we celebrate the 25th anniversary of the historic signing of the Nunavut Agreement, I am proud of our many accomplishments. Nunavummiut are determined, resourceful and community-focused. We have always persevered and grown stronger in the face of adversity. Today, we celebrate this resiliency and look to the next 25 years with hope and optimism. Our culture, language, values and innovative spirit will continue to guide us, as we work together to achieve future milestones and accomplishments. I… read more.