Premier announces winner of 2016 Literacy Award

September 08, 2016

IQALUIT, Nunavut (September 8, 2016) – Premier Peter Taptuna is pleased to announce that Saa Pitsiulak, an Inuktitut language program officer with the Department of Culture and Heritage, is the winner of the 12th annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award for Nunavut.   

“Saa has taught hundreds of children and adults in Nunavut and goes above and beyond her day job, doing much of her work in her own time,” said Premier Taptuna. “On behalf of the Government of Nunavut, I would like to extend my gratitude to her for her important work and her contribution towards literacy across our territory.”  

Established in 2004, the Council of the Federation Literacy Award recognizes the successes of adults that have undertaken literacy training, and celebrates the valuable contributions made by Canadians across the field of literacy. Ms. Pitsiulak was selected for her leadership as an educator in Nunavut for 30 years, and for her role in creating children’s Inuktitut guided reading resources for Nunavut schools.   

Each year, the Council of the Federation celebrates achievement, innovative practice, and excellence in literacy. The annual award is presented to educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses, in each province and territory. Each award recipient receives a certificate signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.  


Media Contact:
Yasmina Pepa
Chief, Public Affairs
Office of Premier Taptuna